Subscribe to updates

— Supporting journalism on city solutions

The Neal Peirce Foundation was established in 2020 to support journalism on city solutions, in honor of American journalist Neal Peirce.

We see a future in which metropolitan leaders and change-makers rapidly learn from each other as a new generation of journalists spreads knowledge about, and adoption of, ideas that make cities and regions better for all their people.

Board & Governance

Board of Trustees

Andrea Peirce

Christopher Swope
Vice President

Carol Steinbach

William Fulton

Lenneal Henderson, Ph.D.

Celia Peirce

Trevor Peirce

Foundation Policies and Disclosures

The Neal Peirce Foundation awards journalism travel grants annually, and on a competitive basis consistent with our mission.

We aim to reflect the diversity of the nation’s neighborhoods and communities in our editorial choices, priorities, and selection of travel grant recipients.

We award travel grants without consideration of race, religion, or ethnicity.

We  subscribe to standards of editorial independence adopted by the Institute for Nonprofit News:

“Acceptance of financial support does not constitute implied or actual endorsement of donors or their products, services or opinions. We accept gifts, grants and sponsorships from individuals and organizations for the general support of our activities, but our news judgments are made independently and not on the basis of donor support.”


The Neal Peirce Foundation is committed to transparency in every aspect of its funding.

We accept gifts, grants and sponsorships from individuals, organizations and foundations to help with our general operations and support of travel grants.

We pledge to make public all donors who give a total of $5,000 or more per year, and will accept anonymous donations for general support only if it is clear that sufficient safeguards have been put into place that the expenditure of that donation is made independently by our organization.


Barbara Peirce
Farley Peters
Alfred Shands
Leah and Christopher Tahbaz


IRS 501(c)(3) Designation Letter (5/13/2021)


Our Board and Advisory Council are all volunteers, and receive no compensation other than reimbursement of expenses incurred in carrying out our duties.